What Are Your Memories from Kindergarten?

by Janis Gaines

I have a few funny/interesting memories from this time in my life.

1) I attended kindergarten at my church, where my dad worked at the time, and I loved getting to ride to work with him every day. My older brother was already in public school, so this was my special time alone with my dad. He drove a yellow Plymouth Duster at the time. The car had two doors, which were heavy for me to open and close, and I remember always slamming the car door and being told not to. Our CB handle for communicating with truckers on the road was Tweety Bird, and I loved that! At the end of a school day, I would wait in my dad’s office, and he always had Smarties candy in a white styrofaom cup on his desk. I don’t know if they were his favorite candy, but they were mine during those years.

Screen Shot 2020-01-08 at 7.04.31 PM

2) I usually finished my seat work early and sometimes, I would get bored in class, so I found myself a new project. I memorized the alphabet backwards. There was a banner border close to the ceiling with the alphabet on it, and I would stare up at it while sitting at the small table and chairs. I was so proud of myself and would recite the alphabet backwards for whoever would listen.

Screen Shot 2020-01-08 at 7.34.38 PM

3) My last clear kindergarten memory is when a friend and I got in trouble for revealing to the whole class that there is no Santa Clause. We were sent out into the hallway for a gentle scolding. This may be my first memory of feeling in trouble for something that was the truth.

Screen Shot 2020-01-08 at 7.36.38 PM

Interestingly, wanting to be like my dad, approaching life from a different perspective, and seeking truth and yet getting in trouble for it have been on-going themes in my life.

What are your memories from kindergarten?

(And wasn’t it kindergarden before kindergarten?!)

__________________________________________________________
This post is part of a personal writing series for 2020, Owning My Story

 

IMAGES: Unknown

***I am 4th from the left on the bottom row. All the other girls look so cute compared to my tom-boyish sweats. I must be wearing my brother’s hand-me-downs, lol.

Screen Shot 2020-01-10 at 3.00.19 PM.png

© January 8, 2020
Tryon, NC