Day 1: Home

by Janis Gaines

cropped-seal_v2-01I’ve signed up for Blogging University’s Photo 101 course, sponsored by The Daily Post on WordPress. Each day they give a topic, along with photography tips. For my pictures, I use my iPhone 6.

Day 1: Home

_______________________________________________________

Here’s a picture of my current home here in Asheville. I live in a small 700 sq ft house built in 1953 and located on a main road that gets lots of traffic. I’ve been here for almost two years. It’s a nice large wooded lot, which I enjoy, so it actually feels very private. The home has been nicely renovated over the years, and just a few months ago, my landlord, Tom, upgraded the bathroom, so it feels like a spa.

I love this picture because you can see my dog, Ginger, sticking her head out the window, which is one of her favorite things to do, and you can see the beautiful new landscaping my sister and I added just a few weeks ago. It’s nice to come home to some pretty colorful flowers and loving pets.

IMG_0049

I also want to write a little about Asheville. It has felt the most like home out of any city I’ve ever lived in. I moved up here three years ago from Georgia. It’s a very earthy, spiritual, artsy place and I love it here. I love the mountains; the area itself is just beautiful. I love that it’s normal to be a vegetarian here. I love my church home. I’ve made great friends here. I love that major authors stop by here; I’ve gotten to hear the likes of Elizabeth Gilbert, Cheryl Strayed, Natalie Goldberg, and so many others. There’s always something exciting going on. And it’s an easy trip back home to Atlanta to see family. I hope to make “a long-term commitment” to this special city.

asheville-7

*** I did not take this photo, but I like that it captures both the city and the mountains.

© June 10, 2015
Asheville, NC

