Passover

by Janis Gaines

I sit at the table
With you by my side
A heart full of darkness
With nowhere to hide

But you raise a hand of blessing
And the wine and the bread
He said, “I give myself to you
That your soul may be fed.”

Passover
He was nailed to the cross
Passover
Not counting the loss
Passover
He said,”I will take your place.”
And in a moment of grace
My Lord was crucified.

Passover
The blood on the door
Passover
And worry no more
Passover
If you will just believe
My love will set you free
To have eternal life.

I sit at the table
With you by my side
A heart full of passion
With no need to hide

And you raise a hand of blessing
And the wine and the bread
He said, “I give myself to you
That your soul may be fed.”

Passover
From death into life
Passover
From wrong into right
Passover
From the emptiness you bear
To the water that’s there
Love turns it into wine

Passover
From darkness to light
Passover
From blindness to sight
Passover
And the truth will be revealed
And your soul will be healed
And love will make it right

Passover
Passover
Passover
Passover

images-20

© July 2000
Fleming Cabin
Arkansas

 

