Where Does All the Money Go?

by Janis Gaines

“Where does all the money go?” Her text screamed at me. “We didn’t get enough parties and vacations…” In my mind, I quickly took account of the finances. A divorce, a rape that led to losing a home and a business, a deadbeat dad, working two jobs, a bankruptcy and foreclosure. I knew being a single mom of three would be tough, but I honestly thought I had covered the important things.

Karate lessons, volleyball, pageant dresses; a twenty left on the counter for a mani-pedi just before the school dance, a hundred for the culinary conference she wanted to attend. I even quit that job at the burger joint so that she could have it.

My oldest daughter left one day when she was seventeen and didn’t come home. Won’t even speak to me. But when I think about it, she’s right. There really hadn’t been enough vacations.

© August 7, 2012
Asheville, NC

