Journey Onward

by Janis Gaines

Journey onward
Take my hand
I’ll lead you homeward
To the Promised Land

No need to worry
No need to fear
I am your lover
And I am right here

So won’t you…take my hand,
You know I understand the pain you’ve been through
Don’t turn and walk away
Don’t lose the faith that brought me to you
You can’t make it on your own
Only I know the way home

No need for sorrow,
Shame or disgrace
With tenderness, I’ll wipe
The tears from your face

I’ll hold you in my arms
‘Til you know inside
I love you completely
There’s no need to hide

So won’t you…take my hand,
You know I understand the pain you’ve been through
Don’t turn and walk away
Don’t lose the faith that brought me to you
You can’t figure it all out
Cause that’s not what love’s about

So won’t you…take my hand,
You know I understand the pain you’ve been through
Don’t turn and walk away
Don’t lose the faith that brought me to you
You can’t make it on your own
Only I know the way home

© Summer 1998
Nashville, TN

