Climbing Jacob’s Ladder

by Janis Gaines

Angelic tones
Ascending and descending
From here to there
And back again
A love song from my friend
Soft-spoken and beckoning
He says, “Come”
In every language ever known to man
And while I can’t make out all the heavenly tones
I am swept away in the symphony of sound
So readily transported and transparent
I hear his heart, his voice
His love for me
And I am his choice
I place my heart in his
In the very center of the note
And where he swells, I rise
And his cadence brings me rest
The holy refrain carries me
From here to there
And back again
Ascending and descending
Toward my eternal home

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

I wrote this while listening to O Nata Lux from Lux Aeterna:

Notes from the composer on the music:

Lux Aeterna–Eternal Light–is an intimate work of quiet serenity centered around a universal symbol of hope, reassurance, goodness and illumination at all levels…

III. O NATA LUX
O nata lux de lumine,
Jesu redemptor saeculi
dignare clemens supplicum
laudes preces que sumere.
Qui carne quondam contegi
dignatus es pro perditis.
Nos membra confer effici,
tui beati corporis.

O born light of light,
Jesu redeemer of the world,
mercifully deem worthy and accept
praises and prayers from your supplicants.
Who once was clothed in the flesh
for those who are lost.
Allow us to become members
of your holy body.

The central movement of the work, O Nata Lux , is an unaccompanied motet. The motet form itself can be traced back for centuries. Here is an opportunity in the middle of an choral/orchestral composition for the chorus to sing without any orchestral accompaniment–a pure vocal sound.

http://peermusicclassical.com/composer/composerdetail.cfm?detail=lauridsenluxaeterna

© November 11, 2008
Flowery Branch, GA

